Greeneville Splits Games With Grainger, Schedule Update

Friday, January 22, 2021
by Cody Guinn

The busy week for the Greeneville basketball teams continued on Thursday as the Greene Devils would welcome Grainger to town for a pair of varsity games.

The Lady Devils have been of the few teams in the last couple of years to give the Lady Grizzlies any trouble and that would be the case again on Thursday as Greeneville would lead by one at halftime.

Grainger would get things going in the second half and outscore Greeneville 41-22 en route to a 65-47 victory to move to 18-2 and 8-0 in conference play. The Lady Devils fall to 10-5 and 3-2 in conference play with both losses to Grainger.

Tambryn Ellenburg led the Lady Devils with 14 points while Chloe Marsh had 12 and Delana DeBusk had 10 in the loss.

The Greeneville boys' would get some revenge in the next match-up as they would also have a big second half and defeat the Grizzlies 75-53 led by the dynamic duo of Reid Satterfield and Jakobi Gillespie.

Satterfield led all scorers with 30 points while Gillespie added 24 in the big win for the Greene Devils as they move to 14-5 and 6-0 in conference play this season.

Greeneville will return to action in a boys-only game tonight hosting Knox Catholic with tip-off at 7:00 PM on 99.5 FM WGRV. Saturday, both Greeneville varsity teams return to action as they travel to Cumberland Gap with tip-off scheduled for noon for the girls and 1:30 PM for the boys on WGRV.

Monday, Greeneville will play a girls-only game against Claiborne and Tuesday, the Greene Devils will play a boys-only game at South Greene.

Also last night, West Greene would be swept by Cherokee on the road. Tonight in county basketball, Chuckey-Doak will host Claiborne in a conference match-up with coverage beginning at 6:30 PM on 103.1 FM WIKQ.

North Greene will also be in action as they'll travel to Unaka for a conference match-up and South Greene will play a boys-only game at Cumberland Gap.

<< Previous Story Next Story >>

Jewel 99.5 FM